Many of the system defaults regarding what the patient can see on the Patient Portal can be changed. But if you have not requested otherwise, the patient can see:

  • Documents that you specifically share with them
  • Encounter summaries, which by default include items that have formally been added to the Assessment and the Plan blocks within the encounter note, and which are shared with the patient via the portal when you sign the note.
  • All medications and supplements that you have on file for them (but not the free text note in the Supplements block)
  • Their vaccine history that you have on file
  • Vitals readings that you have on file
  • Their account balance, a statement of all past charges and payments, any invoices/receipts that you have generated and saved for the patient, and the current credit card on file (if applicable; only the last four digits of the card number and the expiration date is shown)
  • Their basic contact information, photo, and insurance information
  • Their secure message history with you
  • Your calendar availability, if you have set up your work schedules, and their own requested or upcoming appointments, but not your calendar itself or any other appointments on your calendar

Patients cannot see:

  • Tasks that you have connected to their account
  • Tags
  • The content of any free-text notes blocks on their dashboard (e.g., Need to Know, Admin, Social/Family or the equivalent in your build)
  • Their allergies list
  • Their PMH list
  • Their Open Orders
  • Relationships
  • Health Maintenance
  • Their preferred laboratories, radiologists, or specialists (if applicable)
  • Your calendar or other appointments on your calendar
  • Their appointment history