Overview

This article covers how you can add users to your Cerbo system and set up their login information. And how to edit or remove users.


For clinics that are just coming on board with Cerbo, we create the user profile for the person listed on the sign up form. That person then adds other users and sets up their profiles under Admin > Manage > Users.


Related Articles

Details

Adding a New User 

To add a new user, 

  1. Go to Admin > Manage > Users to open the Manage Users window. Click on ADD NEW USER OR RESOURCE. Instructions to add a new Resource are provided here.
  2. In the window that appears, click on ADD NEW USER.
  3. In the user profile window that appears, fill out the details for the user you are adding. You can click on the question mark beside the Permission Level to see more information about the default user permission profiles. The most commonly-used permission profile is "Regular Clinical or Admin Staff," which allows fairly broad access. But restricts access to user management and practice-wide reporting.  All users should have their own login credentials.
  4. Once the user is created, give the username and password that you created to that user and instruct them to change the password immediately upon first logging in. They can do that by hovering over their initials in the top menu and clicking on Change My Password.


The "Add New User or Resource" has several subsections that will ask for various information. Here are details on each of these sections.


Role and Permissions

  1. Role: what is the user's role? 
  2. User Employment Status/Time: this setting lets us know whether the user is working full-time (~40 hours/week), half-time (~20 hours/week), or quarter-time (~10 hours/week). This will affect your billing.
  3. Permission Level: this setting is not necessarily related to the license cost. And you can use the question mark above the drop down to view the spreadsheet on what each level represents and restrict user access to sensitive information in the EHR accordingly. 

Name

  1. Prefix: add your preferred prefix, e.g. "Dr.", so your name is displayed with it
  2. First and Last Name: enter your name as it appears on other official documents. This is especially important if you are going to e-prescribe. The prescriber's name will need to match yours on file in the National Provider Identifier (NPI) database
  3. Suffix: add your credentials (MD, DO, NP, etc.). Prescribers MUST have a valid prescriber suffix to set up eRx.


Login Information

You will set the user's Username (which is difficult to change for a prescriber after eRx is set up), and set their initial password. You would then convey that password to the user outside of Cerbo (it is not sent to them automatically) and let them know the URL for them to use to log into the EHR. They should change their password when they first log in. 


Other Information

  1. Email: enter the user's email. This is important in case the user forgets their password and your account administrator (a user with SuperAdmin permissions) is not available. Cerbo will need to email the address specified here to reset the user's password.
  2. NPI (optional, but important for most providers and required for eRx): specify the user's National Provider Identifier if they have one. This will allow them to e-prescribe, send lab orders, etc. 
  3. DEA (optional, but important to have from the outset for controlled substances prescribers): this is where you would specify the user's Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) unique identifier, if they have one. This will be required to set up controlled substances eRx.
  4. Should this user have a calendar: selecting "Yes" will result in the user having a calendar in Cerbo so they may define their working hours, etc.


Portal Settings

  1. Should this user be an option for patients to send secure messages to through the patient portal: select "Yes" if you want to allow patients to send secure messages to this user.
  2. How should this user's name appear to patients when sending a message in the patient portal: if the user's name should appear differently from what was specified in the "Name" section earlier, type in the preferred name on the patient portal.
  3. How should this user's name appear to patients when requesting an appointment through the patient portal: similar to the previous field, this is where you can specify an alternate name that should appear instead of the user's official name. This name will only be used in the patient portal scheduling page.


Assignability

  1. Can this user be assigned tasks: select "Yes" if you want to be able to assign tasks to this user in Cerbo. The Tasks feature allows users to document and track tasks, whether they are one-off or recurring ones.
  2. Can documents be assigned to this user: similar to the previous point, selecting "Yes" here allows you to assign documents for review to this user.

Supervision

  1. Does this user require a co-signature when signing encounter notes: the drop-down allows you to select one of three possible options - "Can request", "Always", or "Never". If the user's encounter notes need supervision by someone else, whether they're another user in Cerbo, or an external provider, you can select "Can request" or "Always". If you select the former, the user will have the discretion to send certain notes to the supervising person to sign. If you select "Always", all of the user's notes will require a co-signer to be considered closed.
  2. Does this user have a supervising physician: specify whether the user has a supervisor. If the user has a supervising physician who is already a user in the system you can specify that in a conditional drop-dropdown (see image below). If the supervising physician is not a user in the system, you can also add further details (see image below) so that the system remembers those preferences.
  3. Select default co-signer, if applicable: normally, the user will have the option to select whom to send the note for a co-signature. You can make that process a little easier by selecting a default here.


Notes

  1. Internal notes about this user: if you need to make any administrative notes about this user, such that it is only visible to you and anyone else with the permission to edit users (see Permission Level earlier), you can list that here.
  2. Notes to Cerbo: this is where you can make a note to our billing department if you have any requests or notices you'd like to make. For instance, if you want us to confirm the additional cost of adding this user, simply add a note here.  A note MUST be included here if the user's assigned role is "Other".


Lastly, if you're all done adding all the information, click "ADD THIS USER" to complete creating the new user.


Editing a User Profile 

To edit an existing user profile, 

  1. Navigate to Admin >> Manage >> Users (this is the same place as shown in step 1 in the Adding a User section).
  2. Click on the user's username in the Manage Users window.
  3. Edit any field as needed.
  4. The "ADD THIS USER" button will be renamed to "SAVE CHANGES" for existing user profiles. Click this button to save the edits made to this user's profile.

If you are replacing a user, you will need to delete the profile for the user that is leaving and create a new profile for their replacement.  This ensures that user history is correctly tracked for HIPAA-compliance purposes.


Deleting an Existing User

To delete an existing user, 

  1. Navigate to Admin >> Manage >> Users (this is the same place as shown in step 1 in the Adding a User section,
  2. In the Manage Users window, you will see a delete icon in the "DELETE" column (see image below) in the corresponding row for that user. Click on that to delete the user 

In case an employee is leaving a practice and you need to restrict this person's access to Cerbo, you can delete the user completely. However, if the user still has outstanding tasks, etc. that need to be transferred over to someone else in the practice, simply change the user's password. You can always transfer or complete the tasks that were on this user and then delete the user profile. 


In case you have already deleted a user and then realized there were outstanding tasks or other issues that needed to be addressed, contact us at support@cer.bo to restore the user profile.


This article was first published on June 9th, 2021, and most recently edited on August 4th, 2021

Other keywords: Edit user Delete user Add new user NPI DEA Reset username and password Name prefix and suffix.