Lab results from labs with whom you have an electronic integration appear in the Imported Lab Results block at the left of the schedule page.  You need to click the circular arrow to check for and download new lab results, and should do that periodically throughout the day.


Clicking on any result name in that list opens the associated PDF or HTML document with options to assign the results to a specific user for their review, as well as setting other basic document properties.


Note on Structured/ Trackable Lab Data: imported lab results are displayed inside a PDF or HTML document. But if the lab additionally sends structured data (most do this, but some do not), the numeric/ structured lab values are also stored in Cerbo. See also Track Lab Values and Manually Entered Results.


Assigning Imported Lab Results to a Patient

Incoming results are automatically matched to the patient for whom they were ordered, if possible. If the system cannot match to a patient (or matches to the wrong patient), you can select the correct patient manually. If the wrong patient is shown, click the [x] beside the patient's name to bring up a search bar to find and associate a different patient.


 

The default document title is generally the name(s) of the lab test(s). The default document type is "Labs". Both default values can be edited.


Needs to be Reviewed by - check this box to assign the document to a user's task list under the "For Review" tab. If ANY DOCTOR is selected, it will appear in all users' task lists. It would then disappear from all task lists when any user marks it as complete using the Done File Document button in the document review window.


Review Results Now - check this box to open the regular document viewing/ review window after you click "Assign to this Patient."


You can use the DELETE RESULT option to discard results that are duplicative or not needed.


Reviewing Results

The review results window is the same as the regular document viewing/ review window that you see when you click on a document that has been uploaded or saved to a patient's chart.


Needs Review at the top left corresponds to the "Needs to be reviewed by" checkbox in the Assign Document window. It is used to assign the document for review to a specific user, or to all users using ANY DOCTOR. Note that when you click SAVE Changes, the document is saved and filed, and removed from any For Review task lists. To save changes but leave it on For Review task list(s), you would instead click the Save as Unreviewed button.


At the top right of the document view, you will see other options, depending on the document file type. For example, to use the document as the basis for an outgoing fax, open just the document in a new tab, and print. Note that if you just want to fax the document, you wouldn't use the outgoing fax option here, but would right click on the document title in the patient's documents block, and then on Fax Document.


Review and edit the document title, type/ folder, and subfolder as desired in the fields at the right.


The RESULTS drop down menu lets you specify whether the lab results shown are normal, uncertain/borderline, or abnormal. Create a follow up task that will appear on your own task list after the specified time period using the FOLLOW UP drop down menu.


The NOTIFY PATIENT functions let you specify whether the patient has been notified and notify the patient via secure message on the patient portal or by email. Clicking "Email Patient" pulls up a new email message in your email client (e.g., Gmail, Yahoo, etc.) in a new tab, with the patient's email address entered in the "to" field. Remember: you should never send secure or private information via email.


Clicking on "Notify by Portal" brings up a text box for you to type in your message, select from preset notification messages that you have created, if applicable, and/ or insert pre-set messages using Chart Parts. You can also manage your preset messages from by clicking on the "Select from a preset message" drop down menu. When you save the document, any message that you have entered here will automatically be sent to the patient via secure message, and a generic notification will be sent to the patient via email.


Enter any internal notes you would like in the notes field. These are visible when the document is opened for review and when you hover the mouse cursor over the document. Notes that you enter here are not visible to the patient even if the document is shared via the Patient Portal.


Checking "Flag as Key Document" adds the document to the patient's Key Documents, which are shown prominently in the documents block on the patient dashboard.


Checking "Add to Past Med History?" adds the document to the patient's Past Medical History block.


Checking "Show in Pt's Online Portal?" makes the document visible to the patient via the Patient Portal. This option is only available if the patient has Portal access enabled.


Click "Save and re-open in a new SOAP note" to save any changes, open a new encounter note and re-open the document in front. Then, you can toggle between the document and the encounter note as needed (minimize the document view by clicking on the minimize icon in the upper right hand corner of the Review Document pop out).


Click "View patient's dashboard in a new tab" to open the patient's dashboard page in a new tab. This is useful, for example, where you have opened the Document Review pop out from your task list and so do not have the patient's chart in front of you.


Finally, you can match the results to open orders using the MATCH TO OPEN ORDERS check boxes (which initially appear only if there are open orders that have not yet been matched to any results). Once you check the box to assoicate an open order with a results document, that order will continue to appear in the same location beside a now-checked checkbox when the Review Document pop out is opened for that document. You may uncheck the box at any time to disassociate the open order from that document.